Good Funeral Awards’ winners announced

The winners of this year’s Good Funeral Awards were announced on September 5 2015 on King Alfred Campus at the University of Winchester. The ceremony was part of the second Ideal Death Show.

The self-confessed ‘Oscars of the funeral trade’ celebrated outstanding work by professionals caring for the deceased and their families.

Donna Adams, spokesperson for A.R.Adams, the winner of Funeral Director of the Year, said: “Even to have been nominated was a real honour; when they read our name out we were shocked and really pleased!

Related Articles

“We certainly would not have won the award without the hard work, dedication and the professionalism of the whole A.R. Adams team.”

Winners and Categories 


Funeral Director of the Year

  • Winner: A.R.Adams

Embalmer of the Year

  • Winner: Julie Smith – Stibbards and Sons Leigh-on-Sea

Most Promising New Funeral Director of the Year sponsored by the Church of England

  • Winner: Anna Wardle – Bewley & Merrett

Funeral Arranger of the Year

  • Winner: Sarah Wolsey – Daniel Ross Funerals

Celebrant of the Year

  • Winner: Rev Juliet Stephenson – Vicar of Holy Nativity, Newcastle Upon Tyne

Major Contribution to the Understanding of Death

  • Winner: Carla Valentine – St Bart’s Pathology Museum

Best Alternative Hearse sponsored by Motorcycle Funerals

Cemetery of the Year

Funeral Florist of the Year

  • Winner: Rebecca Sharp – Dazzle Me Daisy Do/Rainbows at Sunset

Crematorium Attendant

  • Winner: Charles Howlett – Superintendent at Chilterns Crematorium, Amersham

Gravedigger of the Year

  • Winner: Andy Slade – Fairspear and Westmill

Coffin Supplier of the Year

  • Winner: Cradle to Grave

Best Internet Bereavement Resource

  • Winner:

Association of Green Funeral Directors Green Funeral Director of the Year

  • Winner: Carrie Weekes and Fran Glover at A Natural Undertaking

Mortuary Assistant (APT) Team or Individual sponsored by Respect Everybody Shrouds

  • Winner: Barbara Peters – Mortuary Services, University College London Hospital

Lifetime Achievement Award


Image supplied by

Back to top button