Current AffairsEventsPeople

NCPC seeks outstanding bereavement projects

The National Council for Palliative Care is seeking nominations for the second year of its annual awards.

Awards are given in four categories:

  • Bereavement Project of the Year
  • Dying Matters Initiative of the Year
  • End of Life Care Champion of the Year (sponsored by the Royal College of Nursing)
  • Effective Coordination of Care Award

Nominations close on Friday 16 December, and the winners will be announced at an event at the House of Lords on 22 February, 2017.

Claire Henry, Chief Executive of the NCPC, said: “last year we were amazed by the range and number of entries, and we’re confident that this year will also bring an amazing selection of entries.

“There’s a lot of great work going on in end of life care, and these awards celebrate that. We’re looking for entries from hospitals, hospices, social care teams, volunteers – from anybody who is making a difference to end of life care.”

Last year’s winners included a week long festival about end of life planning organised by three volunteers in Todmorden, a 24-hour telephone rapid response system in Essex, a network of bereavement help points in Sutton Coldfield and a collaborative model of care for people dying at home. For more information visit:

Claire continued: “Last year’s winners were incredibly diverse, but if there’s one thing they had in common it’s a passion for helping people. We had so many strong entries last year it was hard to choose a shortlist, let alone winners, but that in itself is proof of the amazing work going on.”

For more information about the awards, including criteria for each category and an entry form, please see

Sponsorship opportunities are still available for the awards. Go to:

Back to top button